Softball Quiz Number 2
1. Which statement is an incorrect ruling of interference?
a. If a retired runner impedes a fielder making a play on another runner, the runner closest to home is always declared out.
b. If a runner has not yet been put out and interference occurs to break up a double play, the immediate succeeding runner is out.
c. Interference is only awarded in situations where the runner physically contacts a fielder.
d. B4 hits a fair ground ball but R2 hinders F6 making an initial play. The batter-runner is never called out as a result of the interference. If there is less than two outs she is always awarded first base
2. The batter is standing in the batter’s box when an inside pitch hits her in the knee completely in the batter’s box. The proper call is:
a. Dead ball and the batter is awarded first base.
b. Strike on the batter because she needs to make an effort to get out of the way of the pitch.
c. Strike on the batter because the pitcher is entitled to throw over the inner part of the batter’s box.
d. None of the above.
3. A fair batted ball is wedged into the fence. The umpire should:
a. Call a dead ball and award the batter two bases.
b. Call a dead ball and award the batter a home run.
c. Call a dead ball and award the base the umpire judges she would have reached had the ball not become wedged in the fence.
d. Award the batter the base she was closest to when the ball became wedged in the fence.
4. Which of the following are appealable plays?
a. Missing a base.
b. Batting out of order.
c. Leaving a base early on a caught fly ball.
d. All of the above.
5. With no outs and R1 on first base, B2 hits a ground ball on the first-base side of the infield. F4 moves into the baseline to make an initial play on a batted ball. R1, using normal movement, alters her base path going either behind or in front of F4 to avoid contact with F4 fielding the ball. The correct call is:
a. The umpire signals obstruction on F4 for causing R1 to alter her path. Awarding the base to R1 would have achieved had it not been for the obstruction on F4.
b.If R1 runs in front of F4, the umpire should signal dead ball and call interference because R1 is never allowed to run in front of F4 when she is making an initial play on a batted ball.
c. R1’s movement is to avoid interfering with a fielder attempting to make the initial play on a batted ball, so as long as in the umpire’s judgment there is not interference, this is a legal play.
d. R1 is called out because she is not allowed to alter her base path. She must stop to avoid contacting F4 making the initial play on a batted ball.
6. Starting at first base, R1 overruns second base